## THE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF EXETER CITY COUNCIL

Guildhall Tuesday 26 July 2016

The Right Worshipful the Lord Mayor (Cllr Thompson)
The Deputy Lord Mayor (Cllr Holland)
Councillors Ashwood, Bialyk, Brimble, Bull, Denham, Edwards, Foale, Gottschalk,
Hannaford, Hannan, Harvey, Henson, Mrs Henson, Keen, Lamb, Leadbetter, Lyons,
Mitchell, Morse, Musgrave, Newby, Packham, Pearson, Robson, Sheldon, Sills, Spackman,
Sutton, Vizard, Wardle, Warwick and Wood

8 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Baldwin, Branston, Foggin, Owen and Prowse.

9 HONORARY ALDERMEN

The Leader moved the recommendation that Mr Marcel Choules and Mr Norman Shiel be conferred the title of Honorary Alderman, in recognition of their eminent services to Exeter City Council during the period they were Members of the Council.

Councillor Leadbetter seconded the recommendation.

**RESOLVED** that, in pursuance of its powers under Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council do confer on Mr Marcel Choules and Mr Norman Shiel the title of Honorary Alderman, in recognition of their eminent services to Exeter City Council during the period they were Members of the Council.

[Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 provides that the foregoing honour may be conferred by resolution of the Council passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting thereon at a meeting specially convened for the purpose.]

[The foregoing resolution was passed unanimously)

(The meeting commenced at 6.47 pm and closed at 6.48 pm)

Chair